Who is Eliza Stubbs?

Eliza Stubbs (formerly, Eliza Krivo) is an accomplished violinist and music teacher in Wilmette, Illinois. She has been playing the violin since she was five years old and took up the piano in high school. Her students mainly learn through the Suzuki method but she also has students interested in jazz and fiddle studies. Her cello and bass students are generally beginner to intermediate level while her violin, viola and piano students go up through the advanced and college levels.   Eliza completed her Bachelors of Music in Violin Performance from the prestigious Oberlin Conservatory of Music in Oberlin, OH. While at Oberlin, Eliza studied under renowned soloist and teacher Gregory Fulkerson. After completing her B.M., Eliza was offered a Graduate Assistantship and full tuition waiver to attend the University of Delaware. She was also asked to be the first violinist of the University of Delaware Graduate String Quartet and Concert Master for both the University Symphony and Chamber Orchestras.  

After finishing her Masters in Music with a double concentration in Violin Performance and Music Teaching, Eliza moved back to the Chicago land area to begin performing and teaching in Illinois. Eliza has performed with many local orchestras including the Skokie Valley Symphony Orchestra and the Northbrook Symphony Orchestra. Other awards and solo appearances include: master classes with Gil Kalish (concert pianist), Charles Castleman (Eastman School of Music), David Kim (concert master, Philadelphia Symphony Orchestra), the Oberlin Conservatory Merit Based and Music Education Awards, the Skokie Valley Symphony Orchestra Mittenthal Chair award, AMPOL Music Competition and Scholarship Winner, and recipient of the University of Delaware Global Studies Research Grant.  

Eliza has attended various summer music festivals, most recently the ARIA International Music Academy and the Green Mountain Chamber Music Festival where she was privileged to take lessons from teachers such as: James Buswell, Lynn Chang, Gregory Fulkerson, Paul Kantor, Piotr Milewski, Anton Miller, Felicia Moye, and David Russell.